We said goodbye to our intern and one of our designers (temporarily) and said hello to a new marketing manager! She’s super nice and friendly just like everyone else in the office. I was telling my ex-colleague that I was nervous to meet her because no one else in the office has seen her besides our bosses so nobody knows what she’s like at all. For some reason, we all expected her to be a lot older than us but it turns out we’re the same age and I think she’s even the youngest in the office if you include months in our age.

So far, I’m really enjoying my job. We’re given a lot of creative freedom to come up with our own content and I really love the things that I’m doing! I’m also given a healthy work-life balance which is something that I didn’t have in my previous job. The work culture here is just amazing and I really hope to be working with them for a long time!

I’m still feeling a little bit of nervousness while I’m under probation. I mean, I did get the job, but it seems like I’m suffering from the worst case of imposter syndrome I’ve ever experienced in my whole life. Despite being honest with what I can and can’t do during my interview, in my Resume and my online portfolio, I can’t help but feel like they’re going to realise how much I suck and how unqualified I am for the job. It’s nothing about the way they treat me. In fact, they treat me so well! I think it’s attributed to the fact that my being here seems too good to be true, so I feel like I don’t deserve it.

I don’t think there’s anything I can do about it right now. I don’t want to burden my colleagues and bosses with my feelings and the need to be reassured that I do deserve to be here. I just need to constantly prove myself; but until I do get confirmed, I don’t think this feeling will go away. Well, two more months to go!

Leave a comment